Antarctica: Introduction

Submitted by Content on Thu, 2007/01/04 - 10:32am.

Report prepared by Leanne Isaac and Dan Kriss, students in BCIT's Fish, Wildlife and Recreation Program.


Antarctica is located mainly south of the Antarctic Circle. The nearest countries are South America (on the northwest side), South Africa (on the northeast side), and New Zealand and Australia. Antarctica is about 14 million km2 and consists mainly of ice and rock with no crops or arable land. It has mountains up to 5,000 m and trenches to -2,555 m. Ice sheets form eleven percent of the continent and form along half of the coastline.


There are no indigenous inhabitants of Antarctica but there are research teams, both part-time and full-time, that regularly visit research stations.


The economy in Antarctica is reliant on tourism and fishing. Both of these activities are carried out by people from nearby countries.

( categories: )